Workspace Roles

Workspace roles control what permissions users have within a workspace.

Role Name Permission (Member) Permission (Visitor)
See a list of tasks each workspace role can perform in the next table.
Workspace Owner There can be only one workspace owner. Visitors cannot be workspace owners. Visitors cannot create workspaces.
Facilitator Everything an editor can do, plus facilitators can hide and reveal canvases. Note that this feature is limited to paid tiers only. See Bluescape Pricing for more information. Visitors cannot be workspace facilitators.
Editor Editors can view workspace settings and change workspace content. Visiting editors cannot share the workspace.
Commenter Everything a viewer can do, plus commenters can offer feedback on workspace content.
Viewer Viewers can see most workspace content, except hidden canvases and only the first page of any uploaded documents, regardless of length. Visiting viewers have all the same privileges as a Viewer.

Workspace Tasks Performed by Role

Performed Task(s) Workspace Owner Facilitator Editor Commenter Viewer
Edit, delete, upload, or download content :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x: :x:
Hide and reveal canvas content :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x: :x: :x:
Send a workspace to the Wall :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x: :x:
Select a default workspace role for a public workspace they own :white_check_mark: :x: :x: :x: :x:
Make a workspace public by inviting teams :white_check_mark: :x: :x: :x: :x:
Move a workspace between teams :white_check_mark: :x: :x: :x: :x:
Manage collaborators :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x: :x:
Share a view only link to invite collaborators :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark:
View collaborators :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark:
@mention collaborators :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x:
Comment on content :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x:
Select and copy assets, then paste them into another workspace :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark:
View all workspace content :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark:
View all pages of uploaded documents :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :x:
Duplicate, delete, and archive a workspace :white_check_mark: :x: :x: :x: :x:
Edit workspace settings :white_check_mark: :x: :x: :x: :x:
View workspace settings :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark: :white_check_mark:

Understanding user permissions enables you to share and safeguard, where necessary, your workspaces and their contents.

Where to Next?

Not what you were looking for? Reply below or Search the community and discover more Bluescape.

Hi Bluescape Team! I noticed that in Share, under the settings for sharing with the entire organization, there is a new “Template” role following No Access, Editor, Commenter and Viewer. I’m trying to understand the parameters of this role and how it varies from the roles spelled out above, but I see nothing on the Bluescape Community about it. Can you please advise?

Related to this, I’ve noticed that when a workspace is set to ‘All members of the organization have access’ and Template, the workspace does not appear in users’ Portals under My Workspaces + Owned by Anyone. It can be found by typing the name of the workspace in the Search, but it does not appear in the portal otherwise. I’ve since come to realize that if you click on All rather than My Workspaces, then the template workspaces do appear. My question is what is the difference between A) choosing My Workspaces and filtering by Owned by Anyone and B) choosing All? Thanks!

Hi Sarah,
This was a legacy role that allow users to manage templates but we have enhanced the template feature so this role is no longer needed. Indeed this built in role will be removed in our Apr release to avoid confusion. Sorry again for the inconvenience.

1 Like

How do we change the owner of a workspace after an employee has left the company? Who can do this if the employee isn’t available anymore?
Thanks

Hi @Linda_Campbell1. We’ve had this question pop up before. The organization owner or admin can remove the user from the organization and assign workspace ownership to another member. The following instructions are included in this topic:

2 Likes