Host Controls for Bluescape Meetings

Host Controls for Bluescape Meetings

The host of the meeting has certain options available to improve meeting performance, efficiency, and security.

Admitting Participants into a Bluescape Meeting

The meeting host must grant both visitors and dial-in users permission to join the meeting. A visitor is someone without a Bluescape account or who is not logged in to Bluescape. Dial-in users access the meeting by calling a number in the meeting invitation with their phone.

To admit a participant to a Bluescape meeting:

  1. A notification displays at the top of the meeting panel, indicating the number of visitors waiting to be admitted to the meeting. Click the Waiting room notification.

If you do not see this notification, then:

  1. The Waiting room opens, displaying any users who are attempting to join the meeting.

  2. To admit every user in the waiting room, click the Admit all button. To admit an individual, click the Admit button by their name, or the Admit all button.

  3. Click the X button to exit the waiting room.

Muting Attendees

If you are the host, you can mute individual participants or mute all participants except yourself. This is useful when you are presenting and do not want any background noise.

To mute an individual attendee:

  1. Click the meet_av
    (more options) icon next to the participant’s name you want to mute.
  2. Click the Mute Attendee option.

    The attendee is now muted.

To mute all attendees:

  1. Click the meet_av
    (more options) icon at the top right of the meeting tray.
  2. Click the Mute all option in the context menu.
    meet_new(3)

Every participant (except you) is now muted.

Removing an Attendee

If you are the host, you can remove a participant from the meeting.

To remove an attendee from the meeting:

  1. Click the meet_av
    (more options) icon next to the participant’s name you want to remove.

  2. Click the Remove Attendee option from the context menu.

  3. The Remove Attendee confirmation pop-up opens. Click the Confirm button.

The participant is removed from the meeting.

Turning Off Cameras

If you are the host, you can turn off any attendee’s camera. This is useful to preserve bandwidth, particularly in large meetings where certain participant’s video feed may not be displayed in the active view, or where only one participant is presenting. Note that this does not affect audio or screen share.

To turn off an attendee’s camera:

  1. Click the meet_av
    (more options) icon next to the participant’s name whose camera you want to disable.

  2. Click the Turn off attendee camera option in the context menu.

  3. The Turn Off Attendee Camera pop-up confirmation displays. Click the Confirm button.

The camera feed for that individual attendee is now disabled. The attendee will receive a notification that their camera has been turned off by the host.

You can also disable the camera feed of all attendees besides yourself. To turn off the camera feeds of all participants:

  1. Click the meet_av
    (more options) icon at the top right of the meeting tray.
  2. Click the Turn off all cameras option in the context menu.

All camera feeds (except yours) are turned off. All participants will receive a notification that the host turned off their camera.

Disabling Video Receiving

You can stop receiving the video feed of all other participants, which conserves bandwidth and improves meeting performance. This does not stop other participants from viewing the video feeds of others or their own; it only stops you from receiving video feed. It also does not affect audio or screen share.

To stop receiving video in the meeting:

  1. Click the meet_av
    (more options) icon at the top right of the meeting tray.
  2. A context menu opens. Click the Disable video receiving option.

Note: that the above context menu will have different options depending on if you are a host or an attendee.

You will no longer receive the video feed of any other participant, including the host. However, they are still projecting their video feed to the rest of the participants who have not selected this option.

Note : The disabling video receiving functionality is different from the host’s ability to turn off all cameras. Disabling video receiving does not actually turn off the camera. In addition, anyone can access this functionality, not just the host.

Exiting a Meeting

To disconnect from the meeting, click the end_meet
(End call) icon. You are removed from the meeting and are no longer broadcasting your video and/or audio; in addition, you are now unable to see or hear meeting participants.

If you are the host, you have the option to exit the meeting but keep it running for the remaining participants (Leave meeting), or end the meeting for all attendees (End meeting for all).
meet_exit

Note : If you are the host and you leave the meeting but do not end it, a new host is randomly assigned among the remaining attendees.

Wish to discover more? You can also learn how to Start a Meeting.