Inviting Collaborators to a Workspace (Web)

After creating a workspace, you can invite members or groups to collaborate. You can add them in two ways: individually and in bulk. You can also set individual or bulk permissions on what capabilities each workspace collaborator can do within the workspace.

Note: If your Organization or Team does not allow visitors, only existing members can be added as collaborators. If your Organization or Team allows visitors, you can invite anyone with a valid email address.

To invite specific members or groups to collaborate in a workspace:

  1. Select the Share button in the top-right of the workspace.
    Workspace_Share
  2. From the Share pop-up window, select Invite in the Specific people row.
  3. Enter the desired collaborator’s name or email address. If your Organization has groups enabled, you can enter the group name. You can also add multiple collaborators via a CSV file. For more information, see below.
  4. Use the Workspace Role drop-down menu to assign the collaborator or group a workspace role. For a list of workspace role permissions, select :info: (Information). The permissions differ depending on whether the invitee is an existing collaborator or a visitor.
  5. When you are finished, select Add.

Your colleagues will receive an email notification with a link to enter the workspace.

Bulk Adding Collaborators with a CSV File

When adding multiple collaborators to a workspace with a CSV file, the file must meet all of the following requirements:

  • It must contain an email column and a role column. The words email and role should appear in the first line of the file with no capitalization.
  • None of the members can be assigned the Owner role.
  • The file must be saved as a .CSV file, not an .XLS or .XLSX file.

The following image shows how a sample collaborators .csv file should be formatted:

Steps to add collaborators via CSV:

  1. From the Share pop-up window, click Invite in the Specific people row.
  2. Select the Add with CSV option.
  3. The Add collaborators pop-up window opens. Select Upload a file.
  4. Select the properly formatted CSV file from your computer.
  5. Select Open.
  6. Select Add.

The members will receive an email notification with a link to enter the workspace.

Note: The number of collaborators uploaded to a workspace varies depending on your Organization’s subscription plan. If the upload fails with the error message, “Input validation failed,” check with your Organization or Team administrator to see if you exceeded your collaborator upload limit.

Removing Collaborators from a Workspace

You can remove an individual collaborator or a group from a workspace, revoking their access.

To remove an individual or group of collaborators:

  1. Select Share in the top-right of the workspace.
  2. From the Share pop-up window, click Invite in the Specific people row.
  3. Locate the name of the member or group you want to remove.
  4. Select :remove: (Remove) at the row’s end containing the member or group name.

A message displays confirming the member or group is removed.

1 Like

Hi. I would like to know if there is a way to ensure that any new invitees to a workspace land on a zoomed out view when they first login. I have experiences where they arrive zoomed in close to a canvas and they have no way of understanding how to navigate around the workspace. They feel confused and get a bad first impression.

Thanks

Hi, @Michael_Donnelly!

Welcome and thank you for this great question. We recently had another customer request a feature that might solve this experience. While that avenue is being researched, an immediate solution might be to invite individuals to your workspace then send them a link to a specific canvas. Creating a Hyperlink to a Canvas is very easy. Let us know how that works. :slightly_smiling_face: