Changing a Collaborator's Workspace Role (Web)

Workspace owners and members with appropriate permissions can assign and edit the workspace roles of individual collaborators or all collaborators in an Organization. If you have them enabled, collaborators can have any workspace role, including custom roles. For more information, see Workspace Roles.

Note: As a workspace owner, you can edit the role of any collaborator in your workspace. You can also edit the roles of collaborators in workspaces you do not own if you have the Can Edit option enabled under Workspace Collaborator Permissions.

To assign an individual collaborator’s workspace role:

  1. From within the workspace, click the Share button in the top-right of the workspace.


    You can also click the :more_options: (More options) icon next to a workspace in My Bluescape, then click the Share option in the context menu.

  2. The Share pop-up window opens.

From the Share pop-up window, click the Manage button in the Specific people row.

  1. Locate the collaborator or visitor whose workspace role you want to change. Click the workspace role next to their name.
  2. Select another role from the drop-down menu. Custom roles are listed after built-in roles.

Note: If the role is different from the default that was set at the Organization level, a warning message displays.

The workspace role is set for that specific member. You can change it again at any time from this screen and for any of the members in the list.

Note: Existing collaborators might already have a default workspace role assigned by an administrator in the Configuration Center. However, their role on the Workspace Collaborators page overrides their default workspace role.

To assign a workspace role to all collaborators in an Organization:

  1. From within the workspace, click the Share button in the top-right of the workspace.


    You can also click the :more_options: (More options) icon next to a workspace in My Bluescape, then click the Share option in the context menu.

  2. The Share pop-up window opens.

  3. To set the workspace role for all members of a specified team, click the drop-down in the (Organization name) row, then select the desired role. In the screenshot below, the Organization is called Bluescape.

Note: Users must refresh their workspace following a role change for the changes to apply.

Where to Next?

Not what you were looking for? Reply below or Search the community and discover more Bluescape.

Is there another way to see who is part of a workspace? So far, I’ve only managed to do it by clicking on share and then “specific people” and then the list pops up. Thanks, Linda

Hi LInda,

Share Dialog
In the Share dialog, described above, the “specific people” section shows a list of people with whom the workspace has been explicitly shared. But that’s not necessarily a complete list of all people who have access, because the Team sharing may be enabled also – and if so, then all the members of the Team will have access though that mechanism, even if they’re not listed explicitly in the “Specific people” section.

Collaborators Panel
The Collaborators panel is accessed by clicking the user icons to the left of the Share button. The collaborators panel shows a list of only those users who are present in the workspace with you, right now.

Got it, thanks for the quick answer. My main concern is being clear about which workspaces are internal only vs shared with external members. I asked that question a few weeks ago think it would be helpful. Thanks again.

To answer your question further, @Linda_Campbell1, there is no all-in-one list of who is part of a workspace.

There are a number of ways to be part of a workspace.

Workspace owners can see all those individually added (using Specific people) and all Team names. However, only the Team Owner or Team Admins can view those Team members. Additionally, share features that give access to Anyone with the link can keep no record of who that consists of.

To sum things up, you’re looking in all the right places! :smile:

1 Like

The only way to share with someone who isn’t a member of your Team, is to add them explicitly in the Specific Users list. So as long as no “external” users have been setup as members of your Team (see the Team Settings page), you can reliably check in the Specific People list.

This assumes that you’re not using the “Anyone with the link” feature that @michellefs mentioned.

1 Like